Immersed into my studies

study

I’ve been so immersed into my studies, I haven’t had time to write this blog. I don’t remember exactly what we have learned. This post is more of an update than how it has went so far.
We had Joomla and then some more WordPress. I also got myself an own domain for my portfolio. Even if it’s CMS, it’s still difficult. It’s the finding stuff, themes, codes etc. that is a pain in the neck. It’s nothing like the blog version of WordPress where you don’t have the chance to change the codes. In the website version, the one you can download on WordPress.org or your web hosting service. You have to search the widgets, themes and plugins by yourself. You can also download some plugins through WP. In Joomla, it’s even harder so I prefer WP to that. Also because I’m used to it.

On the job learning begins next week. I had 4 clients but now it seems, there’s only one. What I hate the most is waiting. I’m still waiting for a reply for 2 others but I’ve lost hope. I really hope people would email back instead of keeping me waiting for ages. This is not good. Failing on the last-minute. I really need clients to make sites for. I won’t graduate otherwise. Client work is the main thing. One client was sure but I still haven’t got the contract signed. I’m really worried now. I’ve come this far and I don’t want to give in. The job learning is for 6 weeks and if I don’t have a job during that time, it’s been useless. I have nothing to show to the assessors who’s gonna grade our work. Am I cursed somehow? I had a hand full of clients and now soon none. It’s so close now and then clients fail me. At least it’s not my job where I get paid. I would become very poor if I had an own business. Maybe people don’t want to rely on a student. But how can a student gets experience, if no one wants to give you practise. Everybody doesn’t have friends and family to make sites for. I’ve searched the internet for ideas how to get clients but they won’t help me. Maybe I’m driving people away. It makes me feel like a person who thought they were creative but no one else sees it that way. I won’t become a real web designer and I have yet again think what I want to do for a living. It was such a good idea at first. But losing clients, have made me think if I can do it after all.

Every wannabe designer have trouble getting a crack at it at first. That’s what I want to think at least. When you lose a client for no special reason, you get up again. But when you study web design and you need to find clients, you get almost desperate and worried you won’t find new one’s. Other thing is, can I really do it? It feels like I forgot everything I learned. In the first on the job learning, it was really difficult and it didn’t become a site. I can’t use that in the last exam. It’s not impressive at all for a client work. When something is being the target of assessment, it should be decently done. You need to prove your professionalism because it is after all a further vocational qualification. Not getting a client, is a lame excuse and I don’t want to be seen as a loser.
So this post won’t become a negative one, I’ll end this with a happier note. Things is never too bad, you can’t handle them. I got through the first client work with decency and no matter what happens, I shouldn’t give up hope.

8 thoughts on “Immersed into my studies

Add yours

  1. Marketing your skills and services is difficult. You’re not alone in that pool. Perhaps you might follow up with the prospective clients who have not signed contracts? Perhaps it got lost in their SPAM folder or in sheer volume of e-mails? Ask them if the contract seems in order? Are their expectations covered? Do they need adjustments? It’s all part of being a business owner. May as well practice that as well! 😉 xoM

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment. I got a reply from my certain client who will send the contract back to me. But the other two, were possible clients and that wasn’t settled yet. I don’t even know if they still want my help.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Just ask, Mia. It’s a practice. I’m so happy to hear you received a reply from one client out of three. that’s a 33% completion rate. Impressive! 😉 xoM

        Like

      2. You would think possible clients would take the opportunity but they probably want something special.
        One client is not enough. I should have at least 3 or I’ll be in trouble. When it comes to passing the course, that is.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I understand. Some clients need a little reminding of the opportunity. Think of it as offering a plate of chocolate chip cookies fresh from the oven. Ohhh…they smell sooo good! How can they pass them up? And yet, some may be watching their weight, or their diet, or (horror or horrors!) don’t like chocolate chips! Gently repeat the offer, my dear. Not from a place of desperation. From a place of desiring to be of service. Let me know how it goes! 😉 xoxoM

        Liked by 1 person

Design a message

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

