I passed the test!

I passed

Today is the day when I can happily say, I passed the final exam of my web design education 🙂 I wasn’t sure if my presentation would have been good enough. It wasn’t as bad as I thought at first. The evaluators were really easy-going and they gave me good advice. I would have been satisfied with just getting the preparatory training certificate but the qualification one is even better. It makes me feel I have achieved something. Even if I had difficulties, I still managed to get through them. But there’s no use of all these certificates if you can’t get a job.

That’s the next step I have to take again. I already applied to a few but I don’t think I’m qualified for those jobs. There’s no harm in applying though. It just shows you’re not being lazy. Finding a place as a web designer near your hometown is like searching for a needle in a haystack. Both of those jobs I applied for are in Helsinki area. The other option to get a job is self-employment but that’s not for everyone. I have considered that too but it’s a lot of work. It does tempt me because then I can do things at home. It’s the other stuff that I don’t want to go through. It’s riskier than working for someone else. I really liked the time when we had on the job learning thing. I learned to think on my own. I felt freer and I didn’t have to work from 9 am to 5 pm. I could do the work from 3 pm to something else. I could do everything in my own time. There was a deadline when to get the work done so I couldn’t really be lazy whenever I wanted. Now it’s a little different because now I have to know what to charge the future clients.

Another thing could be self-employed or freelancer, if you like, is to find clients. That’s where the work is and also you have to sell your soul.  I mean your skills. It’s difficult if you’re just starting out. What I like the least is networking. Online it’s easier but you also need to meet people in real life. At least that’s what I read about. For an introvert it’s hell. I handled all my clients through emails and it took a while before I got a reply but yet I got it done. It could be the same for real too. There’s also a chance to become a light entrepreneur where you don’t need to have a business. All the paperwork are done for you. That could be a good way to try your wings on freelancing. The easiest way would be trying to get a job somewhere but if that’s not gonna happen, then it’s their loss. One thing is for sure and that’s not having a job at all. Going to school is not an option either.

This is the first time in my life that I can actually say what I do. I’m a web designer, yes I am. What is left is to get a job where I can make a living out of it. It’s time to put these new skills to action.

 

 

Tallenna

Tallenna

Tallenna

Tallenna

Tallenna

One thought on “I passed the test!

Add yours

Design a message

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

